Kubrick Eval

Intro:

The production experience was very enjoyable because I got to go and visit a place that meant a lot to me when I was younger. I went alone so it did get boring at times but the nostalgia I made up for it partially.

The title was the address of my Nan’s because I didn’t have a plot or story to go off of and make a nice title, it was just me exploring a place that made me very happy. To others this is boring but everyone is different, it’s not my best work by far but I still enjoy it personally

The location was in Godstone, my nans old house. Sadly, I wasn’t allowed to film which was a shame because there are horses, ducks, dogs a pond that mean a lot to me and even better to be able to go into her old house.

The music had to be classic so I didn’t have a very wide variety in space of mood because classic has a certain footprint to it but I chose Beethoven Moonlight Sonata because it’s very emotional

 

My knowledge of Stanley Kubrick’s signature didn’t affect what I was doing all that much but the fact I was thinking about my shots made them a lot more artistic for example I tried to get footage of symmetry in nature, or a focus change, or a nice pan. Things I wouldn’t normally include but again I wouldn’t say it’s a direct copy of his style I just paid more attention to my shots which I have him to thanks for.

The music was what gave me the idea (Along with Elena again) because we walked around the room listening to this, just thinking with the lights off and I said it reminds me of my nans or being in a boat and that was my idea really. I went over to Godstone later that day, to get kicked off the land and have to reshoot another day.

 

Once again my project didn’t have a good idea at all and that is the bulk of a good film. Very often I find myself in the situation with the want to make something but no being able to think up what to make. To make a good film you need to have a solid idea before you can have a solid execution

WWW:

In terms of something people watch I think this is terrible, it’s boring and there is no story but to me I rather enjoy it, I think it’s very pretty and some of the angles are nice and the colours are vibrant and I did a few pans that were nice

EBI:

The pacing was a bit slow when watching it all the way through, and the music wasn’t the best fit I wanted something personal or a song from the band “Skindred” as we found out about them when my nan moved here and we all loved his songs. I wish so bad I had a DSLR so I could do manual focus changes and use a zoom lens to get much better angles, gimbal etc. but I can’t afford any and the college won’t lend me them.

Feedback & What I learned:

The feedback was generous because let’s be honest to any viewer not in my shoes won’t care, it’ll just be footage of leaves and I’m not going to pretend it’s great even to me I find it a bit boring I wish I spent way more time editing but maybe next time.

 

I learned that I seriously cannot come up with ideas and for my FMP I am going to talk to everyone and brainstorm for weeks, if I have an idea I actually like I believe I can make a decent short. I also picked up some stuff from Kubrick like one-point perspective, symmetry, plot line etc which can help me creatively

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑